Talking Talwar Time

This entry has been written from an ‘out of character’ perspective to discuss the Talwar destroyer.

Talwar

I’m not sure what it is, but there is something about the Talwar destroyer that speaks to me.  And it says ‘fly me‘.  I don’t find it all that pretty, as it is pretty much a brown brick with fins (although I do like the fins).  I also don’t think that it out performs the Thrasher in any significant way, which is backed up by the large numbers of Thrashers I see in space compared to very few Talwars.  Although I do build the things, and people buy them, so I dunno.

And yet, I’m drawn to it.  I think I have a weakness for the unpopular classes, I have long harbored a similar affection for the Bellicose.  I think I just like the concept of some ships more than my actual experiences of them.  The upshot of this is that I have been entertaining a mild obsession with learning to use the Talwar and have been taking them out solo quite often.

Let’s start with the likely culprit of my fixation, the ship’s description.

The Talwar is a Destroyer designed to have great firepower but weak defenses.

Traits

Destroyers skill bonus per level:5% bonus to light missile and rocket explosive damage per level15% reduction in microwarpdrive signature radius penalty per level

Role Bonus:50% bonus to light missile and rocket max velocity

Development

The Talwar is redolent of the renowned Minmatar practicality in terms of battle. Irrespective of numbers, firepower and circumstances, their strategy when engaged in combat often revolves around the same central tenet: Stay untouchable as much as you can, either by sneaking around or rushing in, do as much damage as fast as you can, and get out before you get killed.

As such, the Talwar does not come equipped to hang around forever on the battlefield. It is built to rush around at speed without getting caught, and to hit very hard and very, very fast.

In my experience, that is all pretty accurate!  The Talwar is not a tough ship, but it is capable of spamming rockets at a range of 22km, which for a small weapon class is a pretty long arm and not far off the limits of a Warp Disruptor II’s 24km.  The fit I have been playing with is intended to capitalize on what I think the ship’s core strengths are; speed (for a dessie) and range.  The downside is low durability and perhaps not the greatest DPS.  I’m cuurently playing with either tracking disruption or sensor damping as means of mitigating damage.

[Talwar, TD]
Damage Control II
Overdrive Injector System II
Overdrive Injector System II

Limited 1MN Microwarpdrive I
Warp Disruptor II
DDO Photometry Tracking Disruptor I, Tracking Speed Disruption Script

Rocket Launcher II, Nova Javelin Rocket
Rocket Launcher II, Nova Javelin Rocket
Rocket Launcher II, Nova Javelin Rocket
Rocket Launcher II, Nova Javelin Rocket
Rocket Launcher II, Nova Javelin Rocket
Rocket Launcher II, Nova Javelin Rocket
Rocket Launcher II, Nova Javelin Rocket

Small Warhead Calefaction Catalyst I
Small Auxiliary Thrusters I
Small Auxiliary Thrusters I

So this is very much a ‘defensively minimal’ proposition entirely reliant on not getting close enough to be scrammed or webbed as it really can’t take too many hits!  I think the Talwar, or at least my approach to it, is really shaping up to be all about positioning.  This thing is too fragile to brawl, as I have found out through trial and error. Mostly error. 😉

Given the MWD bonus, going with an afterburner would seem wasteful, and dual propping seems tight with fitting.  In fact fitting feels tight on this ship generally, my EFT experiments with light missiles didn’t look all that capable as so much grid/cpu goes into the launchers.  The rockets on the other hand I have found murder enemy drones very well.  The use of Javelins is a trade-off, the extra range is all part of the philosophy of this setup but it does come at the expense of DPS compared to faction ammo, which I carry in cargo.  This thing burns through ammo so I’m finding a need to carry a fair bit of it.

I have been flying it aggressively and charging into FW plexes to engage Amarrians on the other side.  Invariably this has meant warping into the plex to find them sitting right on top of the entrance where I am immediately scrammed and start getting hammered.  I may need to work on my haste to get into fights a bit!  Maybe I’m not risk-adverse enough for this fit? 🙂  Maybe what I have here is a ship better suited to defending a plex rather than attacking one.

Something that I’ve been noticing is that since I decided to try out tracking disruption, I keep getting into fights with drone or missile boats more than turret-based ships!  I’m not sure if that comes down to luck or the current trends of the warzone, but it might be a sign to give sensor damping more thought.

What I need to figure out is if I have taken the speed/range concept a little too much to heart and need to dial it back a bit and retool towards  something either more durable or more damage focused.  I haven’t been all that successful with it as yet but this may down to me being terrible at EVE and not applying the right tactics/restraint to flying the Talwar.  Still, I aim to learn by trying.

I don’t see or hear much of the Talwar, I’m interested in hearing your thoughts and experiences with it if you’ve got any.

This entry was posted in Out Of Character and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Talking Talwar Time

Leave a Reply

